The Wretched Question: GPS vs. Phone Apps

20140413-135329.jpg

I’ll admit it. I’m a techno-enthusiast. I love gadgets. If it’s shiny and has buttons, I’m fascinated and want to play with it. The invention of the smartphone almost made my head explode. Back in the day, calculator watches were just as fascinating. It was like buttons on my wrist suddenly made me a super-spy.

So when I learned there are watches that can track runs like the myriad of smartphone fitness apps (I use Runkeeper), I really really REEEEEALLY wanted to try one. Or two. Or all of them.

This is where the conundrum begins. Are the watches any better than the apps?

Here’s the first major difference: Most of the apps are free (with more features available unlocked with a minimal monthly fee). The watches range anywhere from $69 for older ones to a couple of hundred for newer, fancier models.

Less expensive watches also seem to have fewer features such as making me a cup of coffee.

But there are a few other differences. A watch might be easier to use, because it’s on my wrist instead of my upper arm, where I carry my phone. It’s difficult for me to view my phone in the midst of a run due to the fact that I don’t wear my glasses when I run. Cuts down on the looking cool factor, don’cha know.

I say “might be” since I have yet to try a GPS watch.

The other plus to using an iPhone is being able to listen to music when running. There are some watches like the Pebble which sync via Bluetooth to the phones, but then that feels like carrying even more when part of what I want to do is cut back on how much I’m carrying.

I think I will eventually get my geeky hands on a watch, but I want to know what others think. I’d like recommendations. I’d also like the most features at the lowest possible price. Because I’m a cheapskate.

Leave a comment